Alright, I’ve missed a few days already and it’s time to catch up on these “Daily Writings”, although they’re not so “daily” anymore. Maybe I’m procrastinating this much because the the goal of this blog is still not clear to me. Alright – I have decided that I will write about something that interests me during the day. Maybe something that has caught my attention and made me wonder, a news story or an article that I’ve read.
I will not make this my diary. That was never the goal and it’s not my intention to pour out my struggles and thoughts online.

So for today there are actually two things.
The first one is an article I’ve read about Downtown Abbey by Albert Mohler Titled: Downton Abbey — What Are Americans Really Watching?  Click on the picture to read.

I must say – I’ve never looked at the show and what I was viewing as globally as the author of the article.

And my second interesting thing for today was actually a surprise that I’ve discovered after updating my text editor Notepad++ to 6.7.4 Je suis Charlie edition
After the program relaunched it started writing a message on screen – it sorta fell like I was in that scene from the movie “Matrix” when Neo wakes up by his computer monitor.

Here is the text of the message:

“Freedom of expression is like the air we breathe, we don’t feel it, until people take it away from us.

For this reason, Je suis Charlie, not because I endorse everything they published, but because I cherish the right to speak out freely without risk even when it offends others.
And no, you cannot just take someone’s life for whatever he/she expressed.

Hence this “Je suis Charlie” edition.”

Screen:

Apparently the developer has felt the need to express his appreciation for the freedom of speech – through a coded message in the new version of Notepad++. The irony of the situation is that right after the public release, his site gets defaced by hackers opposing the “Je suis Charlie” movement. Link in the picture above.

Leave a comment